View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:54 pm




Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Assaulting teams limitations 
Author Message
Private First Class

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:19 pm
Posts: 61
Can someone confirm this for me?

There's a minor difference in assaults that tripped up Ed and I last weekend:

In TY only reams that start the assault step within 4" of an enemy team may charge into contact.

_________________
Image


Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:46 pm
Profile
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 259
Location: West Los Angeles, California
Igorio wrote:
Can someone confirm this for me?

There's a minor difference in assaults that tripped up Ed and I last weekend:

In TY only reams that start the assault step within 4" of an enemy team may charge into contact.


From the latest Field Manual 101 - page 6 center column (emphasis mine)

My teams need to be within 4”/10cm
to Charge into Contact. Does that
allow an Infantry team that is 4”/10cm
behind another Infantry team that
charged to charge as well?


Yes. As long as its 4”/10cm move brings
it into Contact with the enemy (whether
directly or through a fellow Infantry
team)
, it can charge.

this sounds like there is clunky wording in the Q part of the above with the 4" behind wording.

I'd say that just like FOW (AKA Team Patton) a team may make a move up to 4 inches and contact either an enemy team OR a team in contact with an enemy team.

Should have asked your TO :lol:

_________________
"You can never have ENOUGH Panthers." - Field Marshall Malcolm VonHee


Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:56 pm
Profile
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 259
Location: West Los Angeles, California
Also, the wording on page 57 of the Mini-Rule book seems clear:

1. Who can assault:
-- "within 4" of the enemy" -- which is further defined in the next column under

1) Charge into Contact

A team is in contact with an enemy Team if:
... it is an infantry team and it's front edge is as close as it can get to the enemy Team, or
... it is an Infantry Team and its front edge is as close as it can get to another Infantry Team from its own unit.

I'd put this down to typical BF clunky wording.

_________________
"You can never have ENOUGH Panthers." - Field Marshall Malcolm VonHee


Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:04 pm
Profile
Corporal

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:13 am
Posts: 129
Location: Fresno, CA
Troy wrote:
Igorio wrote:
Can someone confirm this for me?


Should have asked your TO :lol:


Not worth taking the time. Hard enough to get through a tourny game without a time out as it is.


Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:09 pm
Profile
Private First Class

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:19 pm
Posts: 61
And we agreed after my brain froze up about it. My wonder partially comes from an opponent (not Ed, he's great) who insisted the first statement in the rule book overruled later statements.

_________________
Image


Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:54 pm
Profile
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 259
Location: West Los Angeles, California
Igorio wrote:
And we agreed after my brain froze up about it. My wonder partially comes from an opponent (not Ed, he's great) who insisted the first statement in the rule book overruled later statements.


Sounds like a clever ploy to blame Kevin...

And, one thing I'll never accuse BF of is writing Clearly and Concisely at the same time.

_________________
"You can never have ENOUGH Panthers." - Field Marshall Malcolm VonHee


Sat Oct 07, 2017 12:42 am
Profile
Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 259
Location: West Los Angeles, California
wanted to be sure on this one since the rules are ambiguous as written:

https://youtu.be/r3QzynzVaFI

Team Yankee training vid with Phil (link above) - skip to the 1:30 mark, and Phil illustrates that an INFANTRY team outside of 4" from the enemy, but within 4 of a team from the same friendly unit can move up to 4" to make contact with his buddies and join the assault.

_________________
"You can never have ENOUGH Panthers." - Field Marshall Malcolm VonHee


Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:54 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

39,049,417 Views Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y